Skip to content

Three cheers for MGFT!

August 12, 2008

A very short post, no pictures – but well worth the read!   As I mentioned in my last post ‘A long walk in the Purbecks’, the Walk for Wildlife was in jeopardy this year after the MOD decided against allowing us to use Tyneham as our base….

The great news is that the Trustees at the Margaret Green Foundation Trust (MGFT) animal sanctuary at Church Knowle have stepped in and rescued the situation by offering us the use of their grounds!  Huge cheers all round for them!!!!!

Now for the hard work of course – I have one month to plan the new routes, walk them, type them up and then check walk them, as well as fit in my 2 weeks of leave! 

First on the list is a visit to MGFT, followed swiftly by a couple of ‘test walks’ to look at the best ways in and out – before getting stuck into it big time…

More to follwo in the next few days, for now I’m off to look at a map – again!

Cheers

Steve

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2008 10:06 pm

    Hey, really good news. Glad you seem to have got this sorted, it must have been a real headache. Just lots of walking to look forward to now!

  2. Steve permalink
    August 12, 2008 10:13 pm

    Hi Jane,

    Yes, glad it’s all sorted now and I can get out on the hills and get the routes done. It was starting to take over my life – I even found myself writing ideas down at night as I tried to get to sleep… I’m sure the walking over the next few days will help me to sleep well from now on though!!
    Steve

  3. Lucie permalink
    September 15, 2008 9:39 pm

    Calling all V Team Volunteers…

    We’re off walking the route this Friday to put up the signs, clear pathways etc… plenty of room on the mini bus for a few more walkers if anyone would like to join us?

    Weathers sposed to be cracking, I’ll supply the sun block 🙂

Leave a Reply

