Skip to content

Living the nightmare – fifty minutes in a Dorset field of cows

March 28, 2011

By Debbie Keen

Membership Administrator, bravely facing her worst nightmare to raise money for Dorset Wildlife Trust’s 50 for 50 Challenge, 50 minutes in a field of terrifying cows – and a bull

Did not sleep very well on the Monday night of the 21st because I was worried about the Tuesday morning.  I had to bring it forward as there was a volunteer to cover reception as the receptionist was on annual leave and I was covering (I’m normally in the membership office upstairs)

Before - I'm not happy

9am on Tuesday morning a bit nervous, I was due to do my challenge at 11 but it was put back an hour – made me more anxious.

We got there and I had to walk into the field towards the chair that was put there for me, feeling really scared, heart pumping, feeling sick, couldn’t wait for it to finish, once I was settled a few cows came to be nosy, that was not so bad and they eventually moved away so I settled down to read my book (Winnie the Pooh) – very comforting.

Close enough thank you

I eventually started at 12.30 after being told that there was a bull in the field and that he was friendly!!!

OK, do your worst, I'm ready

My colleagues Fiona, Elaine, Sharron and Mandy came to watch, some-one mentioned that it was not fair as the cows were at the other side of the field which was fine by me, but Rip the farmer put some food a few feet away from me and made sure the cows came closer, this was when I got a bit scared.

Oh help!!!

I managed to stay there for the whole fifty minutes and I shall see whether this has cured me of my phobia, I shall see when I go for a walk with our department in May over at Kingcombe Meadows.

Time's up

I think it helped knowing that Rip was there ready with his quad bike in case anything happened.

Tuesday night I slept really well and once I have all my sponsorship money I have raised about £350.00 for the 50 for 50 campaigns.

Find out more about why we are celebrating and what the money is for at www.dorsetwildlifetrust.org.uk

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 10:39 am

    you did well cows, will only stampede if you spook them.also if they have calves, they will get nasty. don’t go in field if have calves.

  2. Chris Senior permalink
    March 29, 2011 3:35 pm

    Well done Debbie – I’m really proud of you. 🙂

  3. March 30, 2011 12:32 pm

    Fantastic achievement Debbie! and a fantastic amount raised! Yoohoo!

  4. Debbie Keen permalink
    March 30, 2011 1:02 pm

    There were calves as well which did worry me

  5. Louise permalink
    April 1, 2011 3:07 pm

    Well done Deb!

Leave a Reply

