Skip to content

Fundraising for Dorset Wildlife Trust

July 27, 2011

by Jane Jenkins, Volunteer Digital Media Assistant 

I recently became a volunteer at Dorset Wildlife Trust and was very excited as I’d not done much volunteer work before. About a week and a half into my 40 week placement I was asked if I’d be interested in taking part in the 50 for 50 challenge, to which I happily obliged. I knew I wanted to do something with photography and wildlife so my idea was to take a picture of 50 different creatures over 50 days. It made sense at the time as I spend a lot of my days dillydallying with my camera in the garden, so I figured it would be a relatively easy challenge. How wrong I was!

Day 1 was a simple day as I decided that our resident robin was going to be my first subject, and as we see this robin on a daily basis I knew it wasn’t going to be hard, and luckily for me it wasn’t!

Day 1 - a doddle

After my relative success on day 1, I figured day 2 was going to be a good day too. How wrong I was again. Heavy, unrelenting downpours made this day the worst day by far and the only image I could scrape together was a horribly blurred and overexposed shot of a lonely starling on a TV aerial.

The one and only shot before it flew off in to the distance

Suffice to say, I was disappointed and discouraged, but I had managed to raise my £50 in just a few short days and I couldn’t let this one day dictate how the rest of my challenge would go; I still had 48 days left and I wasn’t going to allow them to be as miserable as this day had been. So, after picking myself back up again I decided that I was going to make the extra effort to find creatures I’d not seen before. Day 3 took me down to the river where I found (and photographed) my first ever raft spider. Success! Things were looking up again.

A bizarre kind of solace for a minor arachnophobe

The next few days were filled with some great finds; a great tit, ground beetles, southern hawker dragonflies, marmalade flies and a coal tit – the dragonflies were the icing on the cake for me as I’d never seen one, especially one that had just emerged from its husk! The weather held up nicely which allowed for me to go to some interesting new places to find these amazing creatures, and although this challenge and I had a bit of a rocky start I’m so happy I decided to participate. I’ve seen some things that I’ve never seen before which has just been absolutely amazing and I cannot wait to see where the next 41 days take me.

Southern Hawker dragonfly - the icing on the cake

To those of you who are looking to do something for charity, or just fancy setting yourself a challenge, I highly recommend taking part in the 50for50 challenge. It’s a fantastic journey and is so easy to set up. You can create your own sponsorship page on the Dorset Wildlife Trust Fundraising section of the website which you can then pass on to others in order to obtain sponsorships and donations. The best of luck to all of you who give it a go, I can safely say that you’ll have a thoroughly good time!

Note: If you would like to help Jane with her 50for50 fundraising – click through to her fundraising page here

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Geoff permalink
    July 28, 2011 12:27 pm

    Really good job Jane, its a constant inspiration to see young people such as yourself so passionate and proactive about trying to make a difference! And you’ve tailored the challenge to your own interests as well. Sincerely, well done and keep it up!

    • July 28, 2011 1:07 pm

      Thank you very much Geoff! I think it’s important to try and do what we can for the natural world and I like to try and invite as many others as possible to do what they can too. It’s a shame less younger people are interested in the natural world, but I’m trying my hardest to make some kind of difference!

  2. Alan White permalink
    July 28, 2011 12:59 pm

    Wow, what a lovely article, i think it great that you are so enthusiastic about wildlife, and more importantly charity and fundraising, as these 2 elements must go hand in hand if we are to preserve the environment and the creatures it houses around us. Some stunning photography too, i eagerly await your next installment.

    • July 28, 2011 1:08 pm

      Very kind of you to say so, thank you! Charities do what they can to help others and I feel it important to do what I can too 🙂

Leave a Reply

