Skip to content

Work experience wonderment

March 23, 2012

 

By Abigail Spear, Placement Student at Brooklands Farm and The Kingcombe Centre

Image

Me at Brooklands Farm (taken by Nicky Hoar)

I was lucky enough to secure a week’s work experience, working between the Kingcombe Centre and Brooklands Farm. I’ve never known an environment quite like it, and I don’t just mean the beautiful fields and meadows; the atmosphere is so friendly and welcoming –  I really like the fact that people are happy to answer my (never ending) questions!

19th March– At Kingcombe, I did my first ever press release today, I felt rather proud of myself knowing that at the age of 14 and on my first day of work experience I had completed a press release. I also designed a poster for an upcoming event, which I thought utilized my ICT skills. This was my first real insight as to just how busy the Kingcombe Centre  is, I liked the fact that the place wasn’t the usual thundering work environment, instead it was a very relaxed atmosphere, despite the amount of work that had to be done!

Image

Kingcombe Visitor Centre

20th March – My birthday! At Brooklands Farm (the Dorset Wildlife Trust’s headquarters) two newts were recorded! A rare Great Crested, and a Palmate, it was a new encounter for me as I’d only ever seen Common newts in our wildlife pond at home. It just goes to show how important your Wildlife Garden and your ponds are to wildlife, and of course the Great Crested Newt. Another press release completed (on the newt sighting) and I must admit; I did spend some of my lunch break looking up facts about the Great Crested. Here, the buzzing atmosphere was very friendly, I was introduced to so many people, and it was a nice feeling to know that I was around people that were as interested in wildlife as I am.

Image

The Great Crested Newt (taken by Nicky Hoar)

21st March – At Kingcombe again! Another sunny day, I took a lot of pictures on my lunch break while taking a walk round to get a better feel for the place. Joined in on a meeting about attracting corporate visits at Kingcombe, it was really nice to sit around a table of people that were all pitching their ideas and drawing a conclusion.

Image

The River Hooke at The Kingcombe Centre

22nd March – Saw a mouse today underneath a carpet on a compost heap, it was SO SWEET! Didn’t get a picture though – I was far too slow! I met my first Journalist: Ruth Meech today, it was very interesting sitting in on the interview she was doing with Nick Tomlinson (Kingcombe Centre’s Manager) as this is the type of thing I would really like to do. Ruth is doing an article that will be in the Dorset Echo about the new entrance, in addition to Nick starting as the new Manager.After the interview, the three of us went for a short walk around the Kingcombe Meadows, we saw a lovely Chiffchaff chirping away in the gorgeous Spring sun – again no picture. I really need to work on my reaction times!

Image

Nick Tomlinson (The Kingcombe Centre's Manager) and Ruth Meech (Freelance Journalist) on a walk around the reserve

23rd March – Sat at my designated desk and computer, my news release on The Great Crested Newt has been published in the Bournemouth Echo! Overall, this week has been such a great experience: I’ve met some lovely people, taken lots of pictures, seen some lovely wildlife (including The Great Crested Newt) and I’ve now been published!

Image

Image

A Thistle at Brooklands Farm

Image

The River Hooke at The Kingcombe Centre

If you are interested in working as part of the Dorset Wildlife Trust, I would highly recommend it!  Also,visit our Facebook page, and Twitter to find out what’s happening, and any upcoming events.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Spud permalink
    March 23, 2012 3:09 pm

    Great blog! Real enthusiasm that shines through. A sure fire journalist of the future.

  2. Chris Senior permalink
    March 23, 2012 4:07 pm

    What a wonderful week of work experience – an experience which will be with you for years to come, especially seeing a Great Crested Newt – I’ve only ever since one once and I’m much much older than you. 🙂

  3. Abigail Spear permalink
    March 23, 2012 7:16 pm

    Abigail here, thankyou very much for the nice comments! And yes, I’m still buzzing after the experience, the Great Crested Newt was a real surprise!

  4. March 23, 2012 9:33 pm

    Really great blog here Abi. Like the pictures. You will be a great journalist when your older. 🙂

  5. Abigail Spear permalink
    March 29, 2012 3:58 pm

    Thankyou Charlie!

  6. Jane Yandell permalink
    March 28, 2013 2:07 pm

    I still look at this and feel immensely proud of the fantastic effort you made with the blog/the photos-and the obvious enthusiasm you showed throughout your placement. I have used it to show the present Yr 10 students what they could do too ! Thank you Abi-a real privilege. Mrs Y

Leave a Reply

