Skip to content

A Chesil Experience

May 20, 2014

Georgina Pope, Weymouth College Student.

 

Starting on April 7th, I spent my nine days of work placement with the Dorset Wildlife Trust, based at the Chesil Beach Centre. My first impressions were that everyone was very welcoming and helpful. This put me at ease and got me excited for my placement there, which I was sure I was going to enjoy.

 

The Chesil Beach Centre, photo by Marc Smith

The Chesil Beach Centre, photo by Marc Smith.

 

Over my time are the centre, I was lucky enough to be involved in many different activities from the Seaweed Safari to the Great Chesil Eggcase Hunt. I gained a lot of skills and knowledge from the events, including interacting with public and learning a lot about Chesil Beach itself. Working with everyone at the centre was amazing as I was able to meet many different people that without this placement, I would not have had the opportunity to meet and work with.

 

Marc Smith helping children to identify eggcases they found on Chesil Beach.

 

The wildlife that I was lucky enough to experience during the placement at the centre was wonderful, from hares on the beach to many different types of fish and birds, such as skylarks and a variety of gull species.

Overall, my time at the Chesil Beach Centre has been a truly fantastic experience, with it giving me a great insight on what career I would like to purse in the future, and I highly recommend a placement with them as they are an extremely helpful and friendly bunch of people.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

