Skip to content

Week one, day three. We are here!

July 3, 2015

 

Amy, Christina, Sophie, Jack.  The gang, ready for action.

Amy, Christina, Sophie, Jack. The gang, ready for action.

Hello! We are the new Wildlife Skills trainees at Dorset Wildlife Trust, generously funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund. Over the next 12 months, we’ll be training alongside the teams across Dorset to learn new skills and pave the way for gaining careers in wildlife conservation. We hope to keep you updated on this blog with everything we are up to in the coming year.

Here is a little bit about us, and our roles…

Sophie Franks, Volunteer and Engagement Trainee for Weymouth and Portland

Sophie FranksHi I’m Sophie, I’m excited to be starting my traineeship at Dorset Wildlife Trust. I will be training at both the Chesil Beach Centre and Lorton Meadows. I have recently graduated from Cardiff University with a degree in Ecology and I am delighted to return home to Dorset for the year. I am interested in marine life and enjoy kayaking as well as spending as much time on the beach as possible. I am looking forward to meeting many people who also love wildlife that I can learn so much from. I hope to keep you up to date with all the exciting things I will be doing! 

 

 

Christina Bowdler, Practical Conservation Trainee for Mid Dorset                    

Christina BowdlerHi, I’m Christina and I will be based at Brooklands Farm, whilst working on reserves from Holway Wood in the North down to Townsend in the South. I recently graduated from Nottingham Trent University with a degree in wildlife conservation and I’m looking forward to using my knowledge to benefit wildlife. In my spare time I enjoy camping and reading and I am a volunteer first aider with St John Ambulance. I’m really excited to start the traineeship and I’m really looking forward to learning lots of new skills and meeting others who are passionate about wildlife too.

 

 

Amy Brocklehurst, Practical Conservation Trainee for West Dorset

Amy BrocklehurstHi! I’m Amy and I’m going to be based at Kingcombe Farm near Toller Porcorum. I have lived in the Bournemouth/Poole area all of my life apart from my three years with the University of Exeter in Cornwall, where I studied a Zoology degree. Now living in Dorchester, I cannot wait to get stuck in with my traineeship and gain some exciting new skills, in particular my chainsaw license! I love wildlife and landscape photography, spending much of my spare time out on country walks in the hope of finding owls, and also enjoy drawing and kayaking. I’m looking forward to getting everything I can out of this opportunity, meeting new people with similar passions for wildlife and having some fantastic experiences along the way!

 

 Jack Bedford, Volunteer and Engagement Trainee for East Dorset

Jack BedfordHi! I’m Jack and I’ll be based at the Urban Wildlife Centre on Upton Heath. I recently got a bachelor’s degree in zoology from the University of Exeter and I’m really thrilled to get stuck in with my training and gain experience with the Wildlife Trust. In my spare time, I enjoy walking my dog in the countryside and searching for wildlife, as well as cooking and playing the clarinet and saxophone. I’m looking forward to learning and experiencing lots this year, but I’m especially excited to visit Devon, Somerset, Wiltshire and Brownsea Island for our residential trips, seeing all the great wildlife and meeting the other trainees across the counties!

 

 

We’ve already done our first three days and we’re having a brilliant time (Amy’s already seen a dormouse!). We are all raring to get going and learn as much as possible in the next year. We’ll be keeping you updated on our progress here on the blog and we hope to meet some of you across the reserves.

We’d like to say thank you again to Dorset Wildlife Trust and the Heritage Lottery Fund for running and funding Wildlife Skills, and we’ll leave you with Amy’s dormouse pictures!

Dormouse in West Dorset

Dormouse in West Dorset

DSCF7081

The dormouse curled up very obligingly!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

