Skip to content

Here we go – Cohort 3!

September 27, 2016
Dorset trainees.png

Left to Right: Lucy, Lizzie, Steph and Hazel. Copyright: Lucy Allen

From the 1st of July, myself and 3 other nature crazed trainees joined the Dorset Wildlife Trust as part of the Wildlife Skills Traineeship funded by the Heritage Lottery ‘Skills for the Future’ programme.

We each got positions across Dorset, either in a community engagement or practical based role. The hope is that we will gain an enormous amount of  experience and knowledge so that we will be able to gain employment within the highly competitive conservation sector.

We will be blogging fortnightly to share our experiences throughout the year. As this is our first blog entry we thought we should start by introducing ourselves!

Lizzie

I am the West Dorset practical trainee based at Kingcombe Meadows. Before I started the traineeship I was an apprentice at Dorset Countryside. Since starting in July I am really enjoying getting stuck in working on the reserves and learning lots of new skills that I can carry into the future.

Lizzie.jpg

Lizzie Bird Watching: Copyright Steph Aburrow

Hazel

I’m Hazel, DWT community engagement trainee based at the Urban Wildlife Centre in East Dorset. Prior to starting my traineeship, I was involved with DWT as a volunteer marine warden at the Fine Foundation Marine Centre in Kimmeridge and took part in the Wildlife Champions training scheme. I worked in a completely unrelated office based role for the past ten years until my love for wildlife drove me to seek out opportunities in conservation. I was thrilled to be offered this fantastic traineeship and I am enjoying every minute of it! Every day is different; I am gaining knowledge about UK wildlife, getting experience in engaging with the public and learning a variety of practical skills. I look forward to sharing my adventures from my life as a trainee with you and hope you enjoy reading about them.

IMG_7134.JPG

Hazel testing out a newly built bench. Copyright Hazel Pittwood

Lucy

After many years of volunteering and academic study aimed at changing my career I was lucky enough to gain one of the four wildlife skills traineeships within Dorset Wildlife Trust funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund. I am pleased to say that I am the  Dorset Mid-Team Practical Conservation Trainee. Even though I have only just started my traineeship I have already learnt a great deal, gained many new skills and insights into the conservation sector. This will hopefully continue not only helping me to build a career but also give me the chance to make a real contribution to the conservation of the beautiful landscapes and Wildlife of Dorset.

Steph

I was recently described as a ‘friendly, smiling, sea loving girl’ (thanks Hazel), which I guess is a pretty good summary! I enjoy anything outdoors, particularly being in, under or on the sea! I spent my last 3 years gaining a degree in Marine Biology and Coastal Ecology and then my last summer as a Marine Awareness Assistant with the Devon Wildlife Trust. This involved going rock pooling, making crafts, having a natter with the public and drinking many cups of tea! This seemed like a pretty good place to start my career and that is how I have ended here, as a Community Engagement Trainee at Chesil and Lorton!

Low tide walk Wild ABout Chesil 7 Aug 2016 (5).JPG

Steph at Big Wild Chesil: Copyright Angela Thomas

Looking forward to the year ahead,

Steph

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

